HBCU Report: Benedict’s Morris, Hawkins named All-Americans

FUQUAY-VARINA, N.C. – With the college basketball season officially over, BOXTOROW has released its annual Division II All-America teams, and Benedict College’s Quayshun Hawkins and Brandon Morris have been named to the All-America First Team.

SIAC Conference

Hawkins led the Tigers in scoring, averaging 18.5 points per game, ranking fifth in the SIAC. Morris, named the SIAC Player of the Year, averaged 18 points per game and was second on the team with 7.4 rebounds per game.

Virginia Union senior guard Ray Anderson has been named BOXTOROW Division II Player of the Year. Anderson helped lead the Panthers to the CIAA Northern Division title and a berth in the NCAA Regionals. Anderson led the CIAA in scoring (18.1), averaged 4.6 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game. Anderson has made the All-America First Team for the second-straight year.

Virginia Union head coach Jay Butler was named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year. Butler led the Panthers to a 22-8 record, CIAA Northern Division title and berth in the NCAA Regional in his second season at the helm of the VUU program.

BOXTOROW has administered the All-America teams since 2009. FROM THE PRESS BOX TO PRESS ROW with Donal Ware is the only nationally syndicated sports talk show which places major emphasis on HBCU sports. The nationally syndicated radio program which airs on SiriusXM as well as radio stations across the country.

First Team All-Americans
Ray Anderson, Virginia Union (G, Sr., Wilmington, DE)
Quayshun Hawkins, Benedict (G, Sr., Columbia, S.C.)
Quincy January, Saint Augustine’s (F, Jr., Atlanta, Ga.)
Dorian Jordan, Kentucky State (G, Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Brandon Morris, Benedict (G, Jr., Lithonia, Ga.)
Malcolm Smith, Kentucky State (G, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Justin Street, LeMoyne-Owen (F, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)
Tyrius Walker, Morehouse (G, Jr., Atlanta, Ga.)

Second Team All-Americans
Kendarius Ash, Lane (F, Soph., Decatur, Ga.)
Benji Bell, Shaw (G, Sr., Gainesville, Fla.)
Robert Colon, Winston-Salem State (G, Fr., Jacksonville, N.C.)
Richard Granberry, Virginia State (F, Jr., Chester, Pa.)
Ryan McNeil-Moses, Claflin (F, Sr., Washington, D.C.)
Dwight Richards, Jr., Central State (F, Jr., Fort Wayne, Ind.)
Ahmaad Wilson, Bowie State (G, Jr., Baltimore, Md.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Ray Anderson, Virginia Union
BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year: Jay Butler, Virginia Union