HBCU Sports: MEAC Lands 15 on Black College Player of Year Watch List

ATLANTA, Ga. —The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) has 15 players represented on the Black College Football Hall of Fame’s 2017 Black College Player of the Year Award Watch List, which was released on Wednesday.

Courtesy Courtesy of South Carolina State Sports Information

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University. Former North Carolina A&T State, and current Chicago Bears running back Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the award in 2016.

The winner of the 2017 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 10, 2018 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on Dec. 12.

“This is a way to recognize the tremendous talent in HBCU football today,” said Super Bowl MVP quarterback Doug Williams, a BCFHOF co-founder and 2011 inductee. “Through this Award, the Black College Football Hall of Fame is proud to showcase outstanding student-athletes.”

“The Deacon Jones Trophy has become the most prestigious football award for HBCUs,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “Deacon Jones was a pioneer and an icon, and still to this day represents the very best of black college football.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2017 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a selection committee.

The MEAC’s representatives are:

Diquan Richardson (Bethune-Cookman, Sr., DB)
Yahkee Johnson (Hampton, Sr., RB)
Kyle Anthony (Howard, So., WR)
Anthony Philyaw (Howard, Sr., RB)
Herb Walker Jr. (Morgan State, Sr., RB)
Elijah Bell (North Carolina A&T State, So., WR)
Khris Gardin (North Carolina A&T State, Sr., WR/KR)
Leroy Hill (North Carolina A&T State, Jr., TE)
Brandon Parker (North Carolina A&T State, Sr., OL)
Lamar Raynard (North Carolina A&T State, Jr., QB)
Antonio Brown (North Carolina Central, Sr., DL)
Alden McClellon (North Carolina Central, Jr., DB)
Jason Baxter (South Carolina State, Sr., DB)
Darius Leonard (South Carolina State, Sr., LB)
Dayshawn Taylor (South Carolina State, Sr., LB)


HBCU Sports: Volleyball Preview: Alabama State

2016 Finish: 24-9 (18-0 SWAC), won SWAC Volleyball Tournament Key Returners: MB Briana Dorsey, OH Bayle’ Bennett, OH Ni’yesha Brown, OH Krysta Medearis, S Justus Tuiolosega, S/DS Kori Kutsch, MB...


HBCU Sports: JKST’s Anderson named to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

(STATS) –  A terrific mix of returning finalists and first-time nominees combine to form the deep, talented watch list for the 2017 STATS FCS Buck Buchanan Award, announced Friday. Sam Houston State...


HBCU Sports: Anderson, Johnson named to STATS FCS All-American Teams

(STATS) –  Two players from the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) were selected to the STATS Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Preseason All-American Third Team on Monday with Jackson State...


HBCU Sports: Soccer Season Preview: Prairie View A&M

2016 Record: 3-11-1 (3-5-1 SWAC), Eliminated in first round of SWAC tournament Key Returners: Mila Bustos, Blaire Lane, Paiton Maples Key Losses: Courtney Aleman, Ravyn Gilbert Prairie View A&M...


HBCU Sports: Kincade named to STATS FCS Payton Award Watch List

(STATS) –  Many talented players adorn the preseason watch list for the 2017 STATS Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Walter Payton Award, announced on Wednesday. Even more precise, many familiar...

HBCU SPORTSUncategorized

Alcorn legend Donald Driver inducted in Green Bay Packers HOF

GREEN BAY, Wisc. – One of the most successful graduates in the history of Alcorn State University athletics, football standout Donald Driver was inducted into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame over...


HBCU Sports: SIAC student-athletes participate in NBPA HBCU Top 50 Camp

ATLANTA (July 22, 2017) – The inaugural National Basketball Player Association (NBPA) HBCU Top 50 Camp featuring student-athletes from the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) and...


HBCU Sports: Prairie View A&M’s Carson Lee Signs Pro Contract

PRAIRIE VIEW, Texas – Prairie View A&M University baseball player Carson Lee has a signed a pro contract with the Monterey Amberjacks of the Pecos League. In 2017, Lee (5-11, 190, Sr.,...


Alabama State’s Tyler Howe Signs with Detroit Tigers

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Former Alabama State University right-handed pitcher Tyler Howe signed a free-agent contract with the Detroit Tigers on Tuesday.  Howe, who was selected the 2017 Southwestern...